Conservation Halton hands out 2016 awards

Posted by on

Conservation Halton (CH) held its 34th annual Conservation Halton Awards on Tuesday, November 15 at the Milton Centre for the Arts. The awards are presented to people and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to conservation in the Halton watershed, which includes Halton, Peel, Hamilton and Puslinch.

Every person, group, or school, in the various awards categories are nominated from the community. The 2016 Conservation Halton Award winners are as follows:


  • Citizen - Diane and Jim Miller, Milton

  • Citizen (Youth) - Jack Mogus, Oakville

  • Community - Halton Region, Tremaine Road Wildlife Passage

  • Education - Tom Thomson School, Burlington

  • Stewardship - Italian Canadian Club of Milton


More details about the Conservation Halton award winners and their accomplishments can be found on the Conservation Halton Awards page.

“The Conservation Halton Awards are a night to celebrate the great work being done in conservation by people and organizations in the watershed,” said Conservation Halton Chair John Vice. “This year’s recipients are a diverse group who show once again the different ways people are making a difference by helping to protect or preserve the environment in their community.”

There were 100 guests and dignitaries who attended the awards ceremony. In addition to the award recipients, Watershed Stewards in the Halton Watershed Stewardship Program were recognized.

Each year Watershed Stewardship Technicians assist landowners who are looking for advice and recommendations regarding activities they can undertake to restore woodlands, wetlands, meadows, and streams. The following landowners were recognized at this year’s award as Watershed Stewards:

  • Fern Hill School, Burlington
  • Jerry Bloom and Mary Jane Freedman, Campbellville
  • Dave Hulsman and Nicole Sagolili, Burlington
  • Frances Miller and Gord Bingham, Burlington
  • Marion and Peter Pawlik, Flamborough
  • Linda and Dennis Smith, Freelton (Flamborough)

The Conservation Halton Awards were first presented in 1982.